Pub. 3 2021 Issue 5


Banking Department Retail Sellers License Change: What You Need to Know


This story appears in the
NHADA Magazine Pub. 3 2021 Issue 5

The New Hampshire Banking Department is proud to announce that starting Oct. 10, 2021, we will begin using the NMLS to manage Motor Vehicle Retail Seller licenses as a result of House Bill 610, which amended NH RSA 361-A requiring all licensees to maintain their record in the NMLS.

Through the NMLS, your company will be able to amend and renew its license conveniently and safely online. There is no processing fee for transitioning an existing license onto the NMLS. The NMLS does charge a renewal processing fee of $100 per company license and $20 per licensed branch location in addition to any state fee(s). These processing fees pay for NMLS’ operations, including licensee system access 362 days per year, ability to maintain and renew an NMLS Call Center support. More information about the NMLS can be found on the NMLS Resource Center at

The NMLS Resource Center provides step-by-step instructions on how to access the system, guides on how to complete the forms, each state’s transition plans and requirements, tutorials, current and future participating agencies, system alerts, system processing fees, and general background information. Training opportunities are also available in the News & Events section and from the homepage.

If you have any questions regarding transitioning and the change to the statute, please do not hesitate to contact: Licensing at or 603-271-8675. For specific questions about how to transition, contact the NMLS call center at 1-855-NMLS-123 (1-855-665-7123).

The entire letter from the New Hampshire Banking Department can be viewed online at